• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Turning between centers

Hello
I am New here, but I have been playing with the lathe for some 40+ years now.
I am a hobbyist only. But My question comes from Why do I not see any spindle turnings posted anywhere?
Bowls, Boxes, and platters are all that anyone is posting.
Where I make chair and staircase parts, walking sticks, handles, finals and re-production work.
here are a few photos of things that I like to turn.
C.A.G.

Attachments

• Christmas presants 2023.jpg
    Christmas presants 2023.jpg
    990.7 KB · Views: 43
  • Scotts cane1RED.jpg
    Scotts cane1RED.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 42
  • Smoketree light2RED.jpg
    Smoketree light2RED.jpg
    253 KB · Views: 44
  • spindles from templatesRED.jpg
    spindles from templatesRED.jpg
    355.1 KB · Views: 43
I am a hobbyist only. But My question comes from Why do I not see any spindle turnings posted anywhere?
I would have to agree -- bowls, hollow forms, and platters are the overwhelming turnings posted. I do a lot of spindle turning and multiaxis work but don't post much of what I do. It's good to see some spindles.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester