• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Turning woes and questions

I have a question maybe some of you may know the answer to...hell I hope! Every time I turn a bowl I get opposite sides of it(Inside and out) rougher than hell! Sanding does no good and applying a finish just pronounces the grainy testure. What am I doing wrong? Granted Im brand new to turning, and am teaching myself as there is no one near me to learn from. Tools? Wood? hmmm.........Its so discouraging. When I say opposite sides, I mean as though its in the grain of the wood..I think? Sheesh. And Its happened both with cherry and pine(Practice wood scraps from work) Also alot of cracking around the rim of the bowls. Is that from excess heat? How do I prevent those cracks?? One day damnit, I'll get this figured out. Thanks in advance! :mad:
Darrin

tear out

first let me say welcome and that is tear out
if you think of a bowl as a clock then each 15 minute is 1/4 of the clock face and certain woods have more or less tendancy to have tear out in opposite quarters of the clock soft virginia maple tears out very easily, while black walnut tends not to there are always exceptions, no absolutes

sharp tools and tecnique are important, also you can spray sanding sealer or just plain ole shellac on the surface, let dry, and turn again

the technique i will let others describe that have more experince :D

Last edited:

hockenbery