• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Red Cedar

I've been using Red Cedar for over 50 years. We milled it and lined closets, blanket chests, made pole barns and fence posts. Never saw a termite or borer in any of it until now. I received a commission to turn 12 bowls from a large Red Cedar in this family's yard. I couldn't believe it when I ripped the log sections and termites poured out. Anybody run into this?

Has anyone used the Beall Buffing System on Red Cedar, and if so http://www.aawforum.org/vbforum/images/attach/jpg.gifhow did it turn out?

Attachments

• photo (22).jpg
    photo (22).jpg
    554.7 KB · Views: 61

Steve Worcester

Admin Emeritus
Website
www.turningwood.com
I've been using Red Cedar for over 50 years. We milled it and lined closets, blanket chests, made pole barns and fence posts. Never saw a termite or borer in any of it until now. I received a commission to turn 12 bowls from a large Red Cedar in this family's yard. I couldn't believe it when I ripped the log sections and termites poured out. Anybody run into this?

Has anyone used the Beall Buffing System on Red Cedar, and if so http://www.aawforum.org/vbforum/images/attach/jpg.gifhow did it turn out?

You might want to identify the particular termite.i haven't heard of them in red cedar at all, was supposed to be "termite proof".
maybe Formosa termites?