• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Rare or Unrare

Hi everyone, I'm new to turning about 15 months now, and certainly new to your woods having come from England and am retired here now, I have some cedar elm which i know is common, this was growing above a fault in the ground where there were large iron and manganese deposits, these minerals have coloured the wood very markedly, the very dark wood was about 4" in from the sapwood, and the lighter wood was the heartwood, there are also flecks of purple mixed in which is manganese. is this uncommon or is it common, I enclose a pic ,
regards peter

Attachments

• File0036.jpg
    File0036.jpg
    20.7 KB · Views: 387
Last edited by a moderator:
elm

it is very attractive, i have just days more turning time than you so i can not tell you if it is common or uncommon:D

Welcome

Peter,
Welcome to the U.S. and welcome to this forum! Can't answer your wood question, but what you have done with it is beautiful.

I'd say that primary mineral staining is probably not the reason for the variation. No matter if you have an abundant source of a mineral, it has to be in a form which is suitably soluble, non-toxic, and still able to bind with the cellulose.