• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Need Advice on pricing

This is my first post.

A good friend of mine owns a sales business (small private airplanes) and has approached me about doing a large order of pens that he can give to clients. I have been selling pens for 2 years now and have done quite well. I have sold at craft shows and also at craft stores. I haven't ever done a "corporate order" and I was looking for advice on how others have priced a large order like that. I am a small time operation. My profits are not usually large but they cover my hobbies of hunting and other woodworking projects and buying my wife gifts. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
I've only done one corporate order so take this like it is. I didn't give any discounts. It was 50 ornaments. Maybe if it had been 100 or 500.

Doc,
It depends how aggressive your regular price is. I don't do pens for crafts shows but I do make them for some business clients. A 'Good friend' (business client or not) ordering at a time when I need a project or some cash will get a 25% discount but no more.