• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

I've got headstock confusion.

As a very new member, I've very much enjoyed my first two days here, reading as many threads as I can. Taking a slight break at work, I can't believe I'm getting paid to visit here! (for a short while)

I'm confused. I'm a novice turner, using a Jet 1236. When does it become necessary, or conventient, to turn the headstock around 180 and use the short bed. I have an adaptor, like an extra arm, for use in the banjo that would allow me to use the rest at an extended reach, I'm assuming while it's mounted on the short bed.

Second, is it normal to lean half way over the bed to gouge out a bowl under the lip. (leaning way out to the right to get the tool inside on the left) Is there another way.

By turning the heastock off axis, is that considered "outboard turning?"
I have Kieth Rowley's book, I believe he doesn't go into this much at all.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
You have already discovered why some people like a swiveling head. You can swivel the head about 45 to 90 degrees and then be able to hollow the bowl without bending over the lathe. That's the reason my lathe has a sliding head.
You can also rotate the headstock 180 degrees and do the same. I think outboard refers to turning anytime the lathe isn't lined up with the tailstock or the bed of the lathe.