• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

grain orientation

I'm new at spindle turning and want to try something new, my question is what kind of movement will I get when I glue(using CA) end grain to face grain. I have a hollow form that I turned and want to make a "pedestal". The wood I am using is kiln dried if that makes any difference.

Website
www.token.crwoodturner.com
The joint may come apart after a year if in an environment where the temperature and humidity changes over time UNLESS the two woods expand and contract at the same rate and in the same direction. I think that's the key here, is the difference in movement between the two woods.
Also, CA glue is quite brittle, has no flexibility so that in itself can cause problems. You'd be better off with a carpenter's glue such as Titebond.

Website
turnedbygeorge.com
kengrunke said:
The joint may come apart after a year if in an environment where the temperature and humidity changes over time UNLESS the two woods expand and contract at the same rate and in the same direction. I think that's the key here, is the difference in movement between the two woods.
Also, CA glue is quite brittle, has no flexibility so that in itself can cause problems. You'd be better off with a carpenter's glue such as Titebond.
AND...