• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Cutting a bowl blank

Website
www.ctcrafts.com
I'm very new to bowl turning and I have a question. I have several logs of Black Walnut that are about 12" in diameter. Can I turn them just as they are or should I cut them and turn them cross grain? In other words, what would it hurt if I just cut the logs to what ever length I wanted and turned them like they are? They are already pretty round, it wouldn't take much to true them up. Is this a good idea or a bad one? The logs are already dried ready for bowls. Thanks in advance for the help!

Mark Lynch
Countrytime Crafts
Southern Ohio

Website
www.schwingwoodworks.com
Mark, welcome to the sport.

I would guess that greater than 99% of the bowls you see have not been turned "whole log" as you queried, but rather from sections of the log, commonly referred to as face grain orientation.

If you stick the whole log on the lathe, the grain runs parallel to the lathe bed and is referred to as "spindle orientation", because that orientation would offer the best strength for spindle turning.