• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Band saw recommendation

I am new to wood turning and see the need for a bandsaw. I have a jet 12 21 so 10" bowls are about as big as I can go. What's the smallest bandsaw you would recommend? I've looked at 10" rinkon 300 too 500$ and both jet android grizzly 14" 1k to 1,400$. Is it really worth the extra money for 14"?

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
A couple features would drive my decision

Resaw depth minimum 12” for me and 16” would be better yet.
2-3 hp motor
Brake - just a nice safest feature - necessary if you have other folks in your shop
Ease of blade change
Large table

Lots of choices

Last edited:
Thanks. I like the feature based recommendation. I think this list would put me in the 2k range though and I think that's going to be out of budget.

Roger Wiegand

Beta Tester
Website
www.carouselorgan.com