• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Another Sanding Question......

I am new to both this forum and turning, but I have been a lurker for a while..... I am in the process of turning my fourth bowl and I am having issues with sanding the end grain. I seem to get what appears as fine sawdust in my end grain so I know I must be doing something wrong but I am uncertain as to what....... I have enclosed a picture of my bowl (cherry) still on my lathe to show what I am talking about.

As you can see I am now officially addicted to this new craft and thanks in advance for any help!

276536596.jpg

Donna Banfield

TOTW Team
Welcome to the addiction.

The fine dust particles in your bowl appear beause you have tear out in the endgrain. Getting clean smooth cuts across endgrain require very sharp tools. In addition, some woods are more prone to endgrain tear out than others, and cherry is one of those woods that can be a real problem.

You can try several things on your next bowl. One, before you make your final cut, go back to the grinder and return to the bowl with a freshly ground edge.