• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to John Shannon for "Turtle Box"being selected as Turning of the Week for August 26, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Turning Bowls

A member of my wood turning club hollows bowls starting at the center and cutting up to the rim. I had never seen anyone do that. He is self taught and said he is more comfortable doing it that way. Does anyone else out there use a guage that way and if so what is the benifit?

If it's end grain, that's probably a better way to do it because the fibers are supported. (cutting downhill)

For side grain, it's better to hollow from rim to center to keep the downhill support and enjoy less tear out.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
He is self taught and said he is more comfortable doing it that way.
comfort would be the benefit on face grain bowls.
the fibers are not supported by the cut and will tend to tear more.

I knew a wheel chair bound turner who did something similar on the bottom third of the bowl.
hollowed down from the rim about 2/3s then switched going center out

Website
www.reallyruralwoodworks.com