• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to William Rogers for "Ambrosia Maple Platter" being selected as Turning of the Week for September 16, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

tunable vibration absorber

Website
www.prairiewoodart.com
I have no experience with this setup, but what he has done is create a tunable spring mass damper. The rod is essentially a spring. The damping frequency is adjusted by moving the mass (weights) along the rod to find the optimum point at which damper counteracts the lathe vibration. This contraption should work just as well with the mass pointed downward out of the way.
It takes very little offset rotating mass to excite the machine when the first mode natural frequency is encountered. Adding mass to a lathe lowers its natural frequency making it easier to pass through that frequency and get closer to second or third modes which tend to be lower amplitude vibrations. The idea here is to be able to run the lathe faster with unbalanced stock mounted and not adding a lot of mass (weights) to the lathe.