• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Chad Eames for "Twisted Walnut Vessel"being selected as Turning of the Week for September 2, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

True Lignum Vitae

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angelo

President Emeritus
Website
www.majicbrand.com
I’ve been carrying this small log of Lignum Vitae for the last 20 years.
It’s time to do something with it. It measures 9.5”x8”x10.5” long.
I have an idea to turn one small natural edge bowl and sell off the rest. The problem is that it will cost one band saw blade to cut it up.
The dot in the middle is the pith. The curved lines show ring shakes.
Any interest in the remnants?

Attachments

• IMG_0344.jpeg
    IMG_0344.jpeg
    771.4 KB · Views: 47
  • IMG_0342.jpeg
    IMG_0342.jpeg
    473.2 KB · Views: 47
Angelo,
My daughter is definitely interested in the "remnants". She recently ordered a box of LV from eBay and ended up with what I referred to as bits and pieces. Let me know how much you want for it. I will probably just buy it for her as a surprise.
Jay

Angelo

President Emeritus
Website
www.majicbrand.com
Ok. What is she planning to make? I’ll try to keep that in mind when I cut it up.
Unfortunately my band saw needs a new capacitor (parts should arrive next week) so it may take a while to get it done