• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

The two hundred sixty-seventh "which lathe should I buy?" thread

I am new to turning, but not woodworking, nor carpentry and related skills. I pick things up pretty quickly; after all, these are highly transferable skills.
I am focusing on buying the lathe first, due to current global market conditions. Might as well get on the backorder list now, if I do buy a new machine. Not everything is backordered either, but the Laguna lathes are, and the 18" is on my short list

I know people say "the lathe is only half the cost", but if I bought a Robust and some basic starter tools, that's not entirely correct. I could buy a HF t*rd and a nice chuck and spend over half the budget on the non-lathe. The point being made to newbies is not to forget that the lathe is not a stand-alone tool. Got it.