• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Al Miotke for "Laminations Galore" being selected as Turning of the Week for September 9, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Seeking tips on Dust collector filters and CBN wheels

I am new to woodturning and have, so far, restricted myself to carbide tools.

I expect to start working with gouges at some point, and am looking for advice on CBN wheels and hones.

There must be a sweet spot when it comes to neither buying lower quality tools nor paying a higher price than necessary for comparable good quality tools.

I have an 8” grinder and am looking for both decent quality CBN wheels. One of my questions is that what two grits would be best for both some shaping (or example rounding the edges of some skews and perhaps modifying some angles as I get a feel for things.)

What are reasonable prices to pay for the wheels, and which suppliers are trustworthy in terms of quality.

Secondly, I have been fortunate enough to be given a 2 hp Central Machinery Industrial Dust collector. This is great, however, I believe the bag only filters down to 5 microns, and I’d prefer something better,

Grizzly filters have been suggested. Their H5783 - Extra Canister For G0548/Z & G0562/Z https://www.grizzly.com/products/gr...MIjpG10Z38hQMVy6JaBR2F0gx5EAQYBCABEgJiZ_D_BwE

.​