• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Sears Wood Lathe

I have purchased a Sears wood lathe (single pipe style). It came with a duplicator. I am trying to find information on getting a lower cost chuck to fit the lathe. I think the thread is 3/4". I am new to wood turning and would like to try turning bowls. I have a face plate for the outside of the bowl but think I need a chusk to turn the inside. Any help would be appreciated.
Bruce:eek:

Ballard (Seattle) WA and Volcano, Hawaii....on top
Bruce,

Congrats on the new lathe. Hope you enjoy using it. Is this your first foray into turning? Be sure to holler here if you need help. Also, look in the club listings here to see if there is an AAW turning club near you. Hands on help is a wonderful way to cut the learning curve down to size.

For a small chuck, you need to know the thread size of the spindle on your lathe. The manual shoud say. It will be given in terms of the diameter and the thread count. For example, 1x8 would mean 1 inch diameter and 8 tpi or Threads per inch. Then either go to a nearby store with turning supplies, or use a mailorder shop like Craft Supply USA or Packard Woodworking or Woodcraft to order a chuck that will fit that spindle.