• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Newbie Questions about checking on small objects

Website
toysmakeuspowerful.com
Here's my situation:
1) I'm a complete noob to turning (this is basically my first project
ever, and I've never actually seen anyone use a lathe before)

2) I have some 5" or so diameter walnut logs I was going to do some
bowyering with (but they ended up with too many knots) that have been
sitting in my driveway for 10 months. The ends were checked about an
inch into the wood, but the rest seemed reasonable for what I wanted
to do.

3) Goal: nice small project that I can finish without getting terribly
frustrated that isn't pens (pens just don't do it for me). I decided
to try to make some small sake cups (essentially a 2"x2" or so
shotglass).

So, what I did was cut off a foot from the end of the log, ran it over
the jointer to make 3 sides with 90 degree faces, then quartered it on
the table saw. I then cut off the checked ends, and cut the 4
quarters into 4" long blanks to give me plenty of room to work with.

I turned my blanks round between centers, drilled out a 1.5" deep
starter hole with a forstner bit on the drill press, then chucked up
what I had on the lathe with a self-centering chuck. I scraped out
the inside, shaped the outside, sanded both, then used a parting tool
to cut the basically finished piece off.