• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Jim Hills for "Journey II" being selected as Turning of the Week for May 6th, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

JoHannes Michelsen - First Hand...WOW!!

I don't mean to start a post with such a hyperbolic subject line but in this case. I feel it is well deserved. (See bottom for how you can benefit!) :)

I've just returned from a 3 day "hat making' session with JoHannes and thought I'd make some comments on it.
I've been turning for about 20 years, making hollow forms, bowls, spindle work and aiming to get....thin.
Given that end goal, I thought the session with JoHannes might teach me some new approaches and give me something to cover my balding head as a result.
I will include a couple of photos of my work only to show that I'm not an utter novice BUT I will say, I felt like an utter beginner in comparison with JoHannes.

I attended the session with another turner (JoHannes likes to have 2 people as a minimum to make the cost more reasonable). The other turner had only recently started turning and so needed to learn about sharpening techniques, tool presentation/body position etc....an eager to learn beginner.