• Congratulations to 2024 AAW Member Exhibition Common Roots forum member finalists (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Alan Weinberg for "Ash hollow form" being selected as Turning of the Week for October 14, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Joe Div

Hi all,Just started wood turning, I LOVE IT!, a lot to learn, I was a certified all round machinist for 40 yrs( metal) but wood turning requires quite the learning curve. I've gone through 5 lathes in a few months before finally buying the new Harbor frieght one ( 1hp-14 x 20 ) along with the stand. I love it, variable speed,reverse,adjustable height!!! Now I'm trying to prepare some wood blanks ( no band saw here!). I've coated some with "Titebond" original, not sure how long to wait, cracking has been an issue, maybe I'll try twice turning but boy could I use some advice, any suggestions????

Welcome to AAW, Joe.

The best suggestion I can give you when you are starting out is to consume everything on www.turnawoodbowl.com. Kent Weakley is an incredible teacher.

I have that lathe with the Wen branding. I moved up to a bigger lathe so I don't use it right now, but it is a good starter lathe. When processing blanks, you only need (or want) to seal the end grain. Moisture escapes much more rapidly through the end grain. By sealing the end grain, you equalize the drying throughout the blank. I use Anchorseal, but any wood glue or latex paint will work.

As far as how long to wait, there are several answers. One is don't wait at all. Turn it green. If you are air drying your blanks, depending on size, it could take 6 months to 2 years for them to dry down to 10% or so.