• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Jet 1642-EVS-2 / Nova DVR XP / PM3520B

drh

I have been turning for about 2 years and have a Delta 46-715, 3/4 hp so it's time for an upgrade. I'm leaning towards the Jet mainly due to price, although the Nova or PM would definately not break the bank. The Jet, currently on sale at $1400 compared to Nova at $2300 incl stand and PM3520B at $2700, it just seems like the Jet is too good of a deal to pass up. From other posts, I know that the PM is well regarded but is it worth almost double the price of the Jet? (not sure how many bowls over 16" I would turn but what little I might could be turned outboard) The other factor is my shop is in the basement so getting the the heavier PM down the stairs might be a challenge. From what I've learned, the Jet comes disassembled so that tells me it's not a problem to bring down in pieces and assemble, whereas the PM comes assembled which leads me to think that it must be a chore to disassemble and reassemble (otherwise why wouldn't it be shipped disassembled?) The only advantage to the Nova that I can see is the pivoting head which is the one feature I like with my Delta. Bit