• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

How Many Single Mount?

Odie's reminder that people use faceplates for a single mount even on bowls makes me wonder how many people are still doing the outside outward from the headstock and then cutting toward it to hollow? I was happy to see that method go when I got my first (Masterchuck) faceplate alternative. Of course I had faceplates, including those with an optional center screw, but I begrudged the space I had to reserve on the shop floor to stand behind it, and hated having to reach around the headstock, finding myself prone to long overhangs and their consequences back when I had the Delta with the weird banjo, and cylindrical gouges were just making their debut. Couldn't get all the way around initially without a toolrest extension, and then had to take off the tailstock to get the banjo on the rear ... well, a lot of people know what I'm talking about, I'm sure.

The Masterchuck, which was a nightmare in the grip department, came with a pin chuck alternative that set me free. It was a greater time and effort saver than even the first scroll chuck I got - and still use - a Tommy-bar Nova.

So, how many still work from behind, and if you do, do you own a chuck?

I don't but...