• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

How do you get a smooth bottom?

I've been turning off and on for a few years. I like smaller (under 4in) boxes, bowls, gobblets etc. I'm finally getting close to the finish I want EXCEPT I just can't seem to eliminate the center nib at the bottom of my stuff.

I've used every chisel I have that will fit, but in the end, I can always feel that nib in the center of the turning. On the outside foot, when I pare away the tennon, there is always the telltail dot- small, but its there.

I know I need to keep practicing, but does anyone have any techniques or advice to make this a little less trial and error?

Thanks
Dick

Sandpaper is the final answer, but it's tough to do, because you've got such a nice cut elsewhere. Breaks my heart to clean the nub with 100, considering what it does to the rest of the bottom, but it does take out the nub with a firm backing. Where I can reach I use the flex edge Power Locks. The Kirjes (sp?) pneumatic sander is a good finisher.

Minimize by taking a skewed scrape at the last, trying not to press, because that makes those white rings where you press the grain. I wet before sanding to stand that area up.