• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Grinder Stand Plans for Wolverine Jig

Hello,

I am new to woodworking and woodturning. I recently purchased a Wolvering Jig and need to build a wooden grinder stand preferably with some storage. Any help in finding or obtaining good plans would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Rick

Hi Rick,

There are too many variables for plans.

Here are the important details on my bench.
The width is the measurement of the outside of one wheel to the outside of the other wheel plus 4".
I used 3/4" plywood so it can hold screws well.
You can dry fit the grinder plus the two brackets to determine how wide you need to make the ply.

The ply is screwed to two 2X4's which run front to back, offering some storage under the table.
The brackets are in line with the wheels.
My ply is about 6" deeper than needed and I use that to mount a lamp for a bandsaw which is behind the grinder.
The whole thing can be painted by a really expensive artist or left as is.

Sorry I can't make this more complicated :D but this is what I've used for 10 years.
Regards

Grinder Stand