• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to William Rogers for "Ambrosia Maple Platter" being selected as Turning of the Week for September 16, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Duplicating Turned Knobs

I need to turn 10 Shaker style knobs that should at least visually be identical. I have no experience spindle turning but have done some test knobs. It's not difficult to turn the knobs but, since they need to be identical, I thought I would make a template to match each knob to.

What's the best way to do this?

1. Use a contour gauge to create the shape and they match the knobs to the contour gauge.
2. Use the contour gauge, but only to create a wood template to which each knob would be matched.

I need to turn 10 Shaker style knobs that should at least visually be identical. I have no experience spindle turning but have done some test knobs. It's not difficult to turn the knobs but, since they need to be identical, I thought I would make a template to match each knob to.

What's the best way to do this?

1. Use a contour gauge to create the shape and they match the knobs to the contour gauge.
2. Use the contour gauge, but only to create a wood template to which each knob would be matched.
Make the template. It is too easy to bump the contour gauge out of position each time you check your work.