• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to William Rogers for "Ambrosia Maple Platter" being selected as Turning of the Week for September 16, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

DIY Graeme Priddle Style Wood Vaporizer System

Searching for a more detailed explanation on making a vaporizing system. I have no electrical experience, and accept all risk. Even thought I hear this set up is very low risk. nobody in my club seems to know how to make one otherwise I'd consult there. any help is appreciated.

Im also open to suggestions of any unit out there that puts out same power as a vaporizor . currently using an optima , and its not enough power.

What is a wood vaporizer?

At first blush, it sounds like something that skips the normal wood combustion process of burning and brings it right to the gaseous state. I'm guessing it is something different.

I built one and it works great. You will discover that not every battery charger has the same design, so it took me a while to understand what each of the parts do, which ones I needed to bypass, what type of dimmer you need, and how to install a fuse.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
you need a battery charger that dies not have all the electronics. It's been a long time since I built mine and I seldom use it because my Optima burner does what I need 99% of the time. I do very little branding style burning where you need a lot if heat
I'm pretty sure you can find instructions by doing a Google search looking fir Greame priddle woid vaporizor.

Tom Gall

TOTW Team