• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Peter Jacobson for "Red Winged Burl Bowl" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 29, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Cracks in bowl blank

Website
www.gowoodzone.com
You will be able to tell from my question that I am new to wood turning. I have turned some pens, XMAS ornaments and 2 small bowls. I started to turn an Ambrosia Maple bowl the other day. I was able to turn the outside shape and the foot on the bottom. I then had to leave it over night, thinking that since it was "aged" wood I would be okay. I learned my lesson the next day when I went down to work on it some more and discovered several cracks in the blank. I was able to take the blank to my wood turning club and ask how to handle the situation. They gave me some great feedback on how to avoid it in the future and how to fill the cracks. I plan on using CA glue along with some walnut sawdust to fill the cracks. The question I forgot to ask was the sequence of finishing the bowl. Should I continue to turn the bowl until the shape is complete, and then fill the cracks following by sanding and finishing? Or do I need to fill the cracks now before continuing to turn it? If I fill now, will I have to stop and fill as I am turning the bowl to it's final thickness and shape?

It was also recommended that I apply some sanding sealer to the bowl prior to filling the cracks with the CA glue to avoid any discoloration from the glue.