• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to David Bartell for "Critter Serioes #3" being selected as Turning of the Week for September 23, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Cracking while turning

I’m still fairly new to turning but I came across some big maple logs so I’ve just started on my first large bowl. It’s about 16” by 5” deep. The logs were fairly green but were split in the spring and have been stored outside in a covered lean-to. I turned the outside one afternoon and did the inside the next day. The problem I had was with cracks developing on the outside while I was hogging out the innards. They don’t appear to be very deep so I’m hoping they will get turned away when I do the second turning but I’d like to know why. They showed up on both of the end grain faces and there are quite a number of them. After first noticing them I started checking every time I stopped the lathe and would hit the new ones with a bit of CA glue to try to stop them from getting worse and that seemed to work. I was a lot more aggressive than I have been with other bowls I’ve done and I probably didn’t sharpen as often as I should have so I’m wondering if they are “stress cracks” from the wood flexing??? But the bowl is still about an inch and a half thick so I would have thought it pretty stable. Can anybody shed some light on what’s going on? Thanks.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Can anybody shed some light on what’s going on?