• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

What to look for in a lathe

Hi -
I am very new to bowl turning, but have the opportunity to purchase a lathe from someone who has a variety of older lathes used in a school. He says he has Olivers, Lockwells, and Deltas. I am not sure what to look for to ensure I get a good lathe for bowl turning at a good price. Any advise would be appreciated.
Thanks

None of those lathes is "good" for bowl turning. Those are all spindle lathes and are terrific for that purpose. You can, of course, turn bowls on those lathes and many finely turned bowls have been made and continue to be made on those lathes.

Why they aren't "good" Bowl lathes?

The swing of those lathes will limit the size bowl you can turn to 12" and much less than that size over the banjo.

The minimum speed on those lathes is faster than you want for spinning out of balance blanks near the capacity of the lathe.

The bearings are likely in less than good condition. Turning a bowl will make the bearing continue their decline faster. BTW the bearings can be replaced.

What to look for:

Make sure all parts come with the lathe. Banjo, tool rest, tailstock and tools to tighten the banjo and tailstock.

Check the MT of the headstock and the tailstock to be sure they are clean and smooth.

The lathe should include a spur center and a live center. You may need to bring a live center with you.