• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

What is you favorite spray rig for lacquers and similar finishes?

I use Graco and leemar spray rigs. But I’m a carpenter painter. So I can bring my equipment home from work and spray. But I great option for people looking for a great alternative to rattle cans is a pot sprayer, they sell fine ones at harbour freight. You put the whole gallon of lacquer or quart in pot E6299CE0-FD74-4A63-8FAD-4A48620F8174.jpeg and pressure it with your own compressor. A great sprayer option! And a small learning curve.

Rattle can lacquer. The only way to go. No mess. No equipment to purchase. No clean-up. Cost effective. Excellent results. - John
When you say cost effective. I’m assuming you don’t go through much. I spray 5 gallons a week. A could not imagine how many 10s of thousands of dollars that would be in rattle cans when 5 gallons of lacquer is a few hundred dollars. And you can’t buy industrial excellent quality lacquer in rattle cans. Just homeowner quality in hardware stores. I’ve had some very bad results with some of the hardware store style can lacquers. Pitting, orange peel effects etc. Trouble with each layer melting into the previous layer. Etc etc. But it is a no clean up option.

Thanks for the suggestions Glenn. I will look at that. Was hoping to find something a bit more compact....but I am open to look at options. I do have an 80 gal. 2 stage compressor.