• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Tool Rest Not Level? Why?

I am completely new to woodturning. I got a old 12 inch craftsman lathe and got it set up and one of the first things I noticed is the tool rest was at an angle. I moved the foodstock up and it lines up perfectly with the headstock. The foot end of the toolrest is probably an inch lower. I rotated the tool rest 180 degrees and the foot end is still lower. I removed the tool rest and banjo and it seems the main part on the beam is unlevel. There is no slop to it. I measured foot side compared to the head and there is probably an 1/8 inch difference in height. The only thing I can think of is it was a bad casting from the factory or craftsman put this angle on it for some reason. My best solution is to grind it down and file it flat. Am I missing something here?IMG_20190115_113500.jpg IMG_20190115_113310.jpg