• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

The geometry of gouge sharpening

I am a nerd, I confess it. I like to understand the "why". I bow to our more experienced turners who have the steady hands and years of practice who can grind their gouges by hand and eyeball, but I'm like most of us who use jigs. I have been using the Vari-grind jig for years, and for several years in combination with Don Geiger's adjustable height Pro Sharp (I think that is the name, his new device is the Pro Sharp Supreme).

I like making my own grinds and experimenting, but also like to have a base to start from. I have a list of my grinds on a clip board hung by my grinder. I might set the leg of the VG to the 4th notch and the four position (in/out) peg to "red" to set the height of the V notch so that the nose bevel is 60 dgs. (the test bar Don provides). Then I might grind at a different leg setting on the VG, and a different peg on the V notch.