• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Spur center removal Q on Jet 1236

I am pretty new to turning althought I have taken a few courses.... I finally got the confidence to do some turning on my Jet-1236. I want to remove the spur center and put in a mandrel for pen turning but cannot figure out how to remove it. :(

The manual says insert the drift pin and push- There is no hole in teh headstock to insert the driftpin and the manual is pathetically vague.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

thanks- Liz

Liz,

Your 1236 should have come with a steel rod (knock out bar) that you insert in the center of the hand wheel.This goes through the head stock and is used to tap the spur center from the spindle. Be careful, the spur can, and usually does, come out with some velocity. It will either hit the ways and end up on the floor or stab your palm if you catch it wrong, DAMHIK. :D

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
Liz I agree with Jake. I put a rag over the drive center. Sometimes you have to hit it pretty hard with the knock out bar and the rag catches the drive center and keeps it from damaging itself or you.

No hole in hand wheel

Thanks for the replies. I have seen the spur removed by using the knockout on other models but this model has no hole in the hand wheel- the directions on vaguely mention using index pins but there are no details on how to use the index pins to remove the spur or faceplate.