• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Rob Gilmore

Hello all. I've been an amateur woodworker since working with my father as a child and have always dabbled in trying to fix or improve on any wooden item. However, I'm a complete novice to turning. I've recently purchased a 2nd hand Laguna Revo 1836, have it setup and tuned, and have a rag-tag collection of tools that came with it including a Nova chuck. Have just upgraded my chainsaw and spent the last 2 late afternoons cutting up some downed oak, black cherry, catalpa, and maple at a friend's home. Just finished Arborsealing the ends and stacking it today. Now have to get busy and learn how to turn! Luckily I'm retiring in 3 months so should have more time for practice. I look forward to leaning on all your experience.

Welcome. Great bunch of people here who are willing to share their knowledge and expertise. BTW, I have one of the Kodak Brownie cameras and flash.

Thanks Bill and John. Glad to be here and will have questions. One of my other hobbies is photography hence the cameras. I actually have a nice working Brownie (will take 120 film) with flash that I'll bring to family gatherings to blind people with. Reminds me of the old days when people were used to those flashes - now, not so much. The young kids come over asking to look at the back of the camera to "see" the photo.