• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Proper tool use

As a newbie I am looking for a book that shows the proper way to use the difference basics tools I have for my lathe. I would like something that shows proper angle etc. and when to use each type of tool.
Thanks

turning books

I like "Ellsworth on Woodturning". His videos are also very good. There are so many good ones out there it is difficult to pick just one or two.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
If your interest is in turning bowls
The Ellsworth book is excellent. Raffan on Bowls is good too and a bit more general.
A large number of successful turners use the Ellsworth ground gouge and many of the techniques David uses.
So the Ellsworth book is a good place to start if your goal is bowls and/or hollow forms.

If your interest is spindle turning. The " Practical woodturner" by Paine. Or " Fundamental of woodturning" by Darlow

I strongly encourage you to get hands-on instruction. It speeds the learning process immeasurably.
Local clubs are a great source for mentors etc. I see you are in Montana. It a big place with relatively few woodturners so it may not be as easy for you to hookup with other turners but it will be well worth the effort.

Maybe a trip the rocky mountain symposium......

Al

Last edited:

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert