• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Please Help: Allergic reaction to Walnut

I've been working with walnut off and on for the past several months. This morning I did some sanding, wearing a dust mask, but not protecting my skin and eyes (which has pretty much always been my standard proceedure). I went back into the house for some breakfast and realized that I had a broken out in a full body rash.

My research so far suggests that walnut can produce allergic reactions, but that it is not nearly so potent as other (exotic) types of wood.

Does anyone have experience with a reaction to walnut? Will I ever be able to work with it again? Am I now more suseptible to other species of wood?

I have a nice walnut log out in the yard I was planning to make some christmas gift bowls out of, but now I'm scared to even go into the shop.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Northbound,