• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Planer rebuild?

I am relatively new to woodworking and woodturning. I have access to a Powermatic circa 1960's planer and jointer, which belonged to my grandfather. He has been deceased since the late 80's so these machines have been idle since then. Does anyone have the knowledge how to go about rebuilding these machines? I have tried the jointer and it does work, though I'm sure it needs to be tuned up. Are these machines even worth going to the trouble of rebuilding them? Any input would be appreciated.

Newberg, OR: 20mi SW of Portland: AAW #21058
I am relatively new to woodworking and woodturning. I have access to a Powermatic circa 1960's planer and jointer, which belonged to my grandfather. He has been deceased since the late 80's so these machines have been idle since then. Does anyone have the knowledge how to go about rebuilding these machines? I have tried the jointer and it does work, though I'm sure it needs to be tuned up. Are these machines even worth going to the trouble of rebuilding them? Any input would be appreciated.

"Are these machines even worth going to the trouble of rebuilding them?”
NOT IN THE SLIGHTEST! You should immediately pass them my way — I’ll even take ‘em off your hands at no cost so since I’m such a great guy.