• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Need Lathe Advise

I am new to wood turning but took to it like a fish to water. Im at the stage of determining what lathe to purchase. I can buy a midi lathe tomorrow but is that the right choice and if so what make and model is recommended. I don't want to be restricted to making pens and other small items but cant afford a $3000 machine. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

Website
www.bayberrycrafts.com
Midi lathe does not restrict you to only pens.
depending on the swing, a Midi could turn 10" diameter bowl. A heavier lathe will be more stable with unbalanced blanks, but if you prepare your blanks before you put them on the lathe, this is not a big issue.
More horsepower, will let you turn faster without stopping the lathe.
There are certainly advantages to a larger lathe, but you can turn some "full size" pieces on a Midi or even a mini lathe.

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
It is hit and miss and luck. But there are lots of good used lathes available.
These are the best bang for the buck.

I get emails every month or so from local chapter advertising lathes for sale.
Check with your local AAW chapter.
http://www.woodturner.org/?page=Chapters

Even if they don't know of lathes a meeting or two will introduce you to the chapter and some members who have common interests.