1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. ATTENTION FORUM MEMBERS!

Guest, if you have not yet updated your forum bookmark to a secure log in connection, please delete your unsecure book and add the following secure bookmark: https://www.aawforum.org/community/index.php

You can dismiss this notice by clicking the X in the upper right of the notice box.

Dismiss Notice

Mentor needed

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Tim Passmore, May 21, 2014.

1. Tim Passmore

Tim Passmore

Location (City & State):
    Winchester, IN
    I've been turning now for about six months and have found it to be relaxing and rewarding. I've read many articles and books and have watched hours of video----all have been very helpful. I have also spent many hours on the lathe. I think a mentor would now be a great help as I attempt to hone my skills. I live in east central Indiana----any thoughts or volunteers?

2. john lucas

john lucas AAW Forum Expert

Location (City & State):
    Cookeville TN USA
    Join a club if you can find one near you. There is a great club that meets in Northern Indianapolis. Probably lots more.

3. hockenbery

hockenbery AAW Advisor Staff Member

Location (City & State):
    Lakeland, Florida
    Home Page:
    I recommend you contact one or more of the local chapters in your area. Hands on instruction is by far the most effective way to advance your skills and increase your enjoyment of woodturning. Many clubs offer formal mentoring. Consider taking a formal class at a craft school or a turner's studio.

The AAW web site has a chapters search which produced 8 chapters serving Indiana.
    If you use their search you can expand the chapter information and find along to most of the chapters web sites.
    Only a small fraction of the AAW member routinely visit the forum. Most of the chapter contacts are quite helpful.

8 Records Found Sort by Name | Group