• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Lathe advice

Hi people
I am new to turning. I’ve been a novice woodworker for a long time but never turned. I’ve long considered it but never pulled the trigger. Being that I seem to have a lot time on my hands due to the current world condition I decided to give it a go.

Ok, here’s my question. I’m sure this has been asked before. In all my research I have narrowed my choices down to 2 units, those being the Rikon 70-220vsr and the Jet JWL 1221vs. For the sake of argument assume that both units cost the same. Based on quality, ease of use, features and versatility, which is the better choice?

I have already researched other units such as Nova, HF, Delta, PSI, Laguna, Oneway and more and have already eliminated them for various reasons. I am only considering the Rikon or the Jet. I think I have over researched them and rather than clarify the choice all I did was to further muddy the water. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks