• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Ideas for Practicing Bowls

Website
www.phaedrusdesignlab.com
Hello All!

I'm new here and have enjoyed absorbing some of the tremendous amount of knowledge shared here. Now it is time for me to jump in!

I have been turning for about 6 months or so. In that time, I have done a ton of pens, bottle stoppers, ect. All very fun and good practice as well an enjoyable way to make some extra cash. But my real point of learning to turn is to do more vessels. I don't really know what that means, only that I saw a video of William Hunter and I was truly moved.

Now, to turn bowls and other vessels, I need to practice. I don't have access, or a consistent source of logs or large blanks. I have a ton of 12/4 blanks, but obviously that yields a very small piece.

I am looking for some ideas on how to practice on a larger scale when I don't have large chunks and I would like to avoid spending $18/bf to practice.

My only guess is to start doing segmented bowls? That seems like ill-spent effort to practice form and hollowing.

Maybe I am missing some genius idea or some obvious step that bowl turners do regularly?

Thanks for your help in advance!

where are you located