• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

I need suggestions for wood storage

In real life, I'm a civil engineer - working mostly in land development and municipal projects.

early this year I was fortunate enough to be able to harvest a large sycamore from one of my job sites.

fortune has smiled on me again and I have a large number of trees that I am able to remove and keep, but they must be cut down in the next 2 weeks or less.

I've already removed 2 large trees from this particular site, and estimate 10-12 more that I could remove and stockpile somewhere - the problem I face is - what is the best way to preserve the wood until I can get to it?

The current project I'm dealing with has a 6 acre detention pond adjacent to a large creek, I've taken a white ash, cedar elm, hophornbeam and holly from the site. I still have several elms, hickorys, sweet gum, black gum and a large oak with a big burl on it to remove. These trees are old - the white ash was counted with 110 rings. I'd hate for them to be cut and just sold to the logger - and I have consent of the owner and general contractor to remove what I want.

my shop runneth over, and my wife is starting to gripe that the "rest" of the family needs to be able to use the garage as well.

suggestions?

Steve Worcester

Admin Emeritus
Website
www.turningwood.com