• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

How to use wood glue & water to stabilize

KEW

I have a rough-turned bowl which is real punky where a limb joins the trunk.
I decided to stabilize it with wood glue/water, but I've never tried this before and would appreciate some help:

I mixed one part glue to three parts water.
The rough-turned bowl is 3/4" thick.

1) How long should I soak it?
2) Any tips for drying?

This is a natural edge bowl, so I'd like to go ahead and finish when I can.

Thanks!

Are you going to leave it 3/4 thick? Polyvinyl Acetate "stabilization" is more about substituting for lost lignin than bulking. Even there it's a topical, not a systemic. If you're going to soak, a couple weeks ought to get you some useable penetration, but then you'll have to dry the thing to get benefit of the fiber stiffening. Couple more weeks? Better to start much closer to dry and use as a topical. Brush on thick, wait 24, turn.

I'd be interested to know if the PVA goes in a quarter inch as a soak. As a topical it's replaced as you reveal unaffected areas.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert
We may not be using the same words to describe what you want to do. I think of wood stabilizer as something that penetrates wood, even solid wood, to make it more stable.