• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Hollow Form Cracks

Randy Anderson

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Website
www.etsy.com
I'm new to hollow forms. I've done about 10 so far with good success. These two failed on me yesterday after a few days of drying in a paper bag - my standard process for drying green single turned items. Walls are 1/4", opening is 1 1/2" and they're about 8 1/2" tall. I wouldn't win any contests on wall thickness consistency all the way to the bottom but in looking at my previous ones that warped but didn't crack I made the neck thickness thinner, around the inside curve and further down the wall. In all I've read here (lots of good info) it seems 3/16 or even less is the magic thickness to shoot for when turning green. I'm assuming wall thickness and bad luck caught me on these two (pecan and elm). Going to let them finish their dance on splits and cracks and then decide if a colored epoxy fill is worth the effort. I'm not a fan of epoxy fills that are noticeable and only use it clear to fill in small knots where it blends in, but rarely. That said, on "artsy" pieces I know it's a different approach so might be something to consider.

Attachments

• IMG_3963.JPG
    IMG_3963.JPG
    54 KB · Views: 112

Randy Anderson

Beta Tester
Beta Tester
Website
www.etsy.com