• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Holdfast Vacum Chucking System

Ive just acquired the Holdfast Vacum Chucking System,this is my first time trying Vacum Chucking,I've only the 3inch chuck at the moment,to be honest ,I was expecting the hold on the blanks to be more rigid,so,at the minute I am not very confident using the system,I'm sure I've got the right settings on my compressor,Would the bigger 6 inch chuck ,give me more grip on the bigger 16-20 inch platter blanks?Is there any material ,I could use on the chuck or the blank,that would enhance gripping power?All help and advise would be appreciated.

Kindly Paul

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
A material for a really good hold is double sided tape. This is an alternative to vacuum that I use occasionally.

Dwight’s chart shows you will get a stronger hold with a larger chuck.

A tight seal wood to chuck eliminates air loss.
I prefer a dense foam that has little give for round pieces.
This gives the most stable hold for turning the bottom.