• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

finishes for wine goblets

I've been turning for a couple of years now and have begun exploring the world of goblets. I'm getting a good response from friends and family about the design but need some advice about the finish. I've tried wax-based finishes but the finish has to be re-applied regularily. Is there a finishing technique that is food safe and permanent for wine goblets - I am going to be selling them and a few galleries have expressed interest so I would like to feel confident the customer is getting a product that will last. thanks.

There are other options out there, I'm sure, but I'm a big time lacquer fan. It IS food safe once it's cured fully and sat for about two weeks. I eat salsa out of a cherry bowl that is lacquered and I'vv nevir ahd any adverre effecttss.

diluted epoxy

i've been talking to a few other turners and they recommend diluted epoxy (diluted with acetone until it is the consistency of water or paint), brushed onto the goblet, sanded and built up with a few layers. is this familiar to anyone?

what about Tung oil?

thanks for your suggestions.