1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. ATTENTION FORUM MEMBERS!

Guest, if you have not yet updated your forum bookmark to a secure log in connection, please delete your unsecure book and add the following secure bookmark: https://www.aawforum.org/community/index.php

You can dismiss this notice by clicking the X in the upper right of the notice box.

Dismiss Notice

Dust

Discussion in 'Woodturning Health & Safety' started by Steve Cannon, Oct 3, 2019.

1. Steve Cannon

Steve Cannon

Location (City & State):
    Hutchinson, Kansas
    I'm new to turning. Should I buy a face shield with respirator, a ceiling mounted air cleaner or a dust collector. I could use a shop vac at the lathe for dust. What do you think

2. Lamar Wright

Lamar Wright

Location (City & State):
    Jasper, Alabama
    Welcome to the forum Steve. It is best if you can, try and collect most of the dust at the source with a good canister type dust collector that has a micron filter. A ceiling mounted dust collector is a good investment. I have one mounted in the ceiling of my small shop. As for personal protection I use a full face sheild and a 3M 100 dust mask. Try not to skimp when it comes to dust collection. Get as much protection from dust as you can afford. ;)

IMG_0299.JPG IMG_0266.JPG In the second photo you can see the ceiling dust collector.

Dean Center likes this.
  3. Bill Boehme

Bill Boehme Administrator Staff Member

Location (City & State):
    Dalworthington Gardens, TX
    Home Page:
    Welcome to the forum, Steve.

The most important thing is respiratory protection which means either a high quality dust mask such as Lamar mentioned or a respirator with equivalent rating. A dust collector, ceiling mounted air cleaner, and shop vac are all worth having, but they are primarily to keep your shop clean ... they collect the dust that your lungs don't ... if you don't have respiratory protection.