• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Drying wood

I'm new to turning and a little afraid to try and dry wood myself. However, the cost difference between dried and green wood is significant enough to cause me to step out of my comfort zone. Does anyone have any advice or resources to help me get started drying my own wood?

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Turn the wood green then dry it.
One rule for air Drying wood is about a year per inch.
If you turn a 6” deep bowl from green wood with a 1” wall thickness you can dry it in less than a year and return it.

I started a thread on working with greenwood in the tips and techniques.
Includes 2 video from a demo - turning a bowl for drying. And. Turning a dried bowl
http://www.aawforum.org/community/index.php?threads/working-with-green-wood.11626/

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website
www.hockenberywoodturning.com
Also turning bowls and hollow forms to final thickness while green and letting them warp works well too.
Natural edge bowls are usually turned once.
If you turn them 1/4” wall thickness they will dry in several days so you can sand them and then apply finish

Also at least one of the clubs out in you area has a wood yard where members can go and get green turning blanks. Hardwoods were rare in plains but peopl planted more than turners can use.

Last edited: