• We just finished moving the forums to a new hosting server. It looks like everything is functioning correctly but if you find a problem please report it in the Forum Technical Support Forum (click here) or email us at forum_moderator AT aawforum.org. Thanks!
  • Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Dave Roberts for "2 Hats" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 22, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Care of gouges, skews, etc.

I'm new at this game so I have a question that came up while practicing turning a piece of pecan. (Actually, looks pretty decent.) My question is what is the proper way to care for your tools? This is what I have done: Wehn I first got my tool set, I cleaned them and put a light coat of oil in them. When I was ready to use them, I cleaned the ends with denatured alcohol to remove the oil. Today, while turning I got a bit of "stuff" (probbly a bit os sap) on the edge of the gouge and skew. I used a cloth with alcohol to clean, lightly touched up the edge with a fine stone, wiped off the residue with a clean cloth. After I was done, I cleaned the edges and put on a light coat of oil. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

john lucas

AAW Forum Expert