• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Keven Jesequel for "Big Leaf Maple" being selected as Turning of the Week for April 15, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

Gear shift knob

I am new to wood turning and was thinking about trying to make a gear shift knob for my car. Is there a place to by hardware for this kind of project or do I need to make it also? I know there are a lot of pen kits I was wondering if there was anything like that for shifter knobs?
Thanks

Website
www.docwks.com
Shelby, I'm not sure what you are planning on putting the shift knob on. I did one for a Triumph GT and an MG I just took a nut that fits the shifter and turned it round and then epoxied it into the blank and turned the knob, the emblem my bother-in-law ( who I was making it for ) got it from a online auto website. I used epoxy finish as it takes a lot of abuse with sweat and UV damage. Still looks good after 9 years.

Very Simple.

1. Find out the thread size of the gear shift lever.
2. Buy a threaded insert in the same size.
3. Drill a properly sized hole in your wood that will accept the threaded insert.
4. insert a rod to fit tightly into the hole (you can use a twist drill bit) and put that into your scroll check.
5. Bring up the tail stock an apply pressure on the wood.
6. Turn and sand your piece.
7. Remove from lathe and put in the insert.
8. Apply finish of your choice using a bolt threaded into the insert as a handle.
9. Hit the road in your woody!;)

hockenbery

Forum MVP
Beta Tester
TOTW Team
Website