• Beware of Counterfeit Woodturning Tools (click here for details)
  • Johnathan Silwones is starting a new AAW chapter, Southern Alleghenies Woodturners, in Johnstown, PA. (click here for details)
  • Congratulations to Paul May for "Checkerboard (ver 3.0)" being selected as Turning of the Week for March 25, 2024 (click here for details)
  • Welcome new registering member. Your username must be your real First and Last name (for example: John Doe). "Screen names" and "handles" are not allowed and your registration will be deleted if you don't use your real name. Also, do not use all caps nor all lower case.

turning a ring

Hi folks. I'm a newbie to turning, and have only turned a few pens. I am trying to turn a wood/ivory ring, but have had some trouble. The ring will be walnut with a thin slice of ivory in the middle (assuming I can sand it flat and glue it). When I tried this before, using wood glue, the ring split when I tried to bore it out. Should I try CA next time? I bought a chuck to use on the lathe (Jet Mini), but it doesn't bore it in the exact middle. Should I just use a small tool to bore it out? Should I drill the hole even before I mount the block for turning? Anyone turned a ring before? I appreciate any advice!

ps. It's for a very small finger - 3 1/2 :)

Yes turn the hole first.

Make sure you have loads of waste material to work around. This is to say that the walnut can be an inch long on either side of the ivory so there is plenty of wood to chuck.

Drilling for the hole will usualy leave a rough surface. Turning and sanding the inside of the hole will let you smooth the inside.

Please note that walnut is a mild alergen. If the ring is meant for a young person there is a good posiblity that they will develop an alergy to walnut. If the ring is meant for awedding band the same alergy issue is a concern. As an ocasional ring for an adult this will make a stunning turning.